top of page
Search

The Book That Started It All


Reading is an enjoyment every one has. Of course some more than others, but most everyone loves to read. Books have such a way to grab hold of each one of us, taking us soaring on an amazing journey. Soaring to heights that only our pure imagination can take us. Of course every reader has that one book that started their love for reading. The first book you opened that took you on an adventure that lead you to wanting more. What story, what written word, what book started it all for you?

I have always had a love for books and the written word, but the first book I remember  reading was a First Edition Secret Garden. It was very thick and had over One Thousand pages. It was very small but very thick. I had found it in my elementary school library just hanging out with all these newer books. It was tattered and old, which is probably why I decided to pick it up. I’ve always been a sucker for old books. I was in Fourth grade and my love for books changed at that moment. The Secret Garden stole my life, my time, and all I could do was read. It was about a month before school was out and I read and read and read. On the last day I still had about One-hundred pages left and so my best friend, the Librarian, let me hide that book in the library so that I could finish it the following year. On the first day of 5th grade while everyone visited with friends, I was waiting for the Library to open. It only took me two days to finish and I really wanted to keep that book, but I put it back so that it could touch another persons life as it did mine.

But like the book that started it all for me, everyone has theirs. The question is which one is yours?

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

31 Days Until PJ 

Head on over to my Facebook page and see what's new. https://m.facebook.com/mommywriter03/?ref=bookmarks

bottom of page